About The Club

About The Club

About Abbeylara GAA – The Background.
Officially founded in 1964 but tracing back as far as 1889 when the club was known as Ballywillan Michael Davitt’s, Abbeylara GAA Club is based in North County Longford, nestled between Cavan and Westmeath. The club play their games in Oliver Lynch Memorial Park situated approximately 1km from the village of Abbeylara in Ballyboy. Serving a wide community from Dalystown and Aughnagarron through Carragh and Springstown to Abbeylara and Camagh. The club draws its support from approximately 316 households with a population of approximately 815 people and currently has over 190 members placing it among the larger clubs in the county with respect to catchment area, club development and recent success on the field.

Club Development
The club has a wealth of facilities having recently developed a new football pitch and stand as well as a new indoor Handball Alley. The football grounds consist of 2 pitches, a running track, recently re-furbished dressing rooms, large parking facilities and a brand new spectator’s stand. In addition to the recent handball and football developments, the parish development committee has also built a brand new Community Center next to the Church in Abbeylara village. So drop in when your about and take a look at these fine developments.

Abbeylara’s Longford Representation
The club have provided Longford with numerous players down through the years and particularly in the last 15 years. The Leinster Championship game vs. Westmeath in 1999 was a particularly proud day for the club with 5 of our players on the Longford team. John Joe Reilly started in goals with Donal and Enda Ledwith in the back line as well as Terry Drake and Niall Sheridan in the forward line. Both Niall Sheridan and Padraig Berry have received the highest praise on the Sunday Game programme for their performances in the Longford jersey!

We have retained a strong representation up to this year with Fergal Battrim, Robbie Smyth and Colm P Smyth members of the 2014 Longford panel. What is more, our own John Fay served as a selector with this panel. Abbeylara also had representatives on the two Leinster minor winning teams of the recent past with Robbie Smyth playing a starring role in Longford’s 2010 win and Shane Smith a commanding figure at full back for the 2002 Leinster winning teams!

Recent On Field Success
Since the turn of the Millennium in 2000, the Club has had great success on the field having won 2 Senior Championships in 2000 and 2006, 2 Senior “B” Championships in 2001 and 2002, 3 Leader Cups in 2000, 2004 & 2009 as well as winning the All County League Division 1 Title in 2009 and a Junior “B” Championship in 2010. At underage level, the Club has won 3 separate Under 21 Championship titles in 2000, 2010 and 2012.

Pictures of the Club Grounds:

[AFG_gallery id=’1′]