Underage Football

Northern Gaels

Northern Gaels Club was formed in 1984. The Senior Clubs of Abbeylara and St.Columba’s Mullinalaghta made a joint  decision to form an underage GAA club for boys and girls in both Parishes. At the time both senior clubs recognized that an amalgamation of both parishes was necessary at underage and would be of great benefit to the Senior Clubs in the years ahead. It was a bold and courageous decision taken by both Senior Clubs, but it has turned out to be very beneficial for all  parties involved.

Northern Gaels participate in all age groups from Under 8 to Under 18 (Minor). Although Northern Gaels fielded teams in the top divisions in all grades, success and silverware eluded the club for many years. The club’s first notable success came in 1996 when the Under 14s won the Féile competition in Longford and went on to represent their county in the national Féile finals in Mayo. The club’s first league success came in 1998 when the Under 16s won the Division 1 League. Northern Gaels had to wait until 2003 to win its first ever A Championship when the Under 14s made the historic breakthrough. Since 2003 to present Northern Gaels have had its most successful period in the Club’s history, the most notable highlight was the Under 14’s winning their Féile All-Ireland in 2010 held in Derry.

Northern Gaels has provided many players for County Longford underage teams, most notable successes’ have been Shane Smith and Shane Mulligan who played in Longford’s  Leinster Minor winning team in 2002 and in 2010, Robbie Smyth and James McGivney also won the Leinster Minor. In 2013, Northern Gaels had 10 players on the Cnoc Mhuire panel that won the ‘A’ Vocational Schools All-Ireland final in Croke Park.


Competition Year
Under 14 Championship 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010
Under 14 Division 1 2003, 2005, 2007, 2010
Under 14 Longford Féile 1996, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2010
Under 14 All-Ireland Féile 2010
Under 16 Championship 2005, 2009, 2012
Under 16 Division 1 League 1998, 2009, 2011, 2012
Under 16 Leinster League Winners 2012, 2013
Minor Championship 2008, 2011
Minor Division 1 League 2006, 2007, 2008, 2011, 2012, 2013


Competition Year
Under 21 Championship 2010
Under 21Championship Runn.Up 1997, 2006, 2007
Under 21 “B”Championship 2000, 2012
Under 21 13-a-side Runners Up 1996
Minor Championship 1946